All posts by Walter Doolin


All Ireland Basketball Tournament, Clonmel

School Under 19s Basketball All Ireland tournament Trip

Team Sheet: Dylan Downey,  Kyria Tembe,  Jamie-Smith Oliver, Harvey Killeen, Cian Smith, Rokas Galinauskas, Eoighan Barry, Anthony Emmett.

The boys left for their games on Saturday 19th January. They had a long bus journey from Dublin to Tipperary. Once they got there they would arrive at the hotel Clonmel Park hotel. The boys would spend the night there and leave for their matches on the Sunday.

The first game was at 11am vs CTI Clonmel. The game started slowly for the boys – being down by 6 going into the second quarter. The second quarter was much better as they built up a lead with baskets from Anthony Emmett and Harvey Killeen. The boys held the lead in the third quarter with a good team performance and great ball movement. Clonmel started to make a comeback in the fourth but the boys held on to their lead with some big free throws from Jamie-Smith Oliver. Harvey Killeen led the boys with 35 points.

Final Score: CTI Clonmel 47 – 53 Collinstown Park Community College.

Their second game was against OCC Nobber

Yet another slow start to the game from Collinstown while Nobber picked off early baskets due to the boys being tired. In the second quarter the boys made a comeback with a one-man show by Kyria Tembe picking up baskets and grabbing rebounds on the defensive end. In the third quarter Nobber built up yet another lead and were not looking to let go of it. Once the fourth quarter started the boys made a comeback – tying the lead with some great passing by Dylan Downey. Unfortunately, Nobber picked off some late fast-break points allowing them win the game.

Final Score: OCC Nobber 56 – 48 Collinstown Park Community College.


Extra Curricular Fair

On Thursday 17th January Collinstown Park hosted its first Fair showcasing all the extra curricular activities that take place in the school.  Despite being held at the end of the school day there was a big enthusiastic turnout.

Members of the various clubs and activities along with the cooperating teachers hosted stands showing what went on in the clubs.  Many new members signed up.


Christmas 2018

Happy Christmas to all our past and current students, their parents and families and the wider school community.  Best wishes to everyone for 2019.

From The Staff of Collinstown Park Community College


FE Christmas

FE students marked the end of term on Wednesday with a get-together with all those  who finished classes that day.  Christmas cheer and raffles added to the fun. None enjoyed it more than the Business students who did their computerised bookkeeping exam that morning.


Transition Year Trip To Irish Aid

The final trip before Christmas was on Wednesday 12th December to the Irish Aid Centre on Clonmel Street in Dublin 2.

The students learned where some of our taxes go to help people in third world countries. There was a particular focus on Malawi. They got the chance to experience what it would be like to be the family member in charge of food while living in a poverty-stricken area. Their challenge was to make the right choices so their family survived. Some families didn’t survive. It was an eye-opening experience for all involved.

A great day was had by all.

Irish aid



Winter Wonderland Delights Again

One of the magical events of Christmas is the Collinstown Park Winter Wonderland.  Under the guiding hands of Ms Helen McHugh and Mr John Whelan ably assisted by Sports Hall staff and the Transition Year Elves, a wonderful experience for young children is hosted in the school Sports Hall.

Students from St Peter Apostle, St Mary’s and their ASD unit as well as members of the local Gladiators Club and the children of DDLETB staff and the Collinstown Further Education students all had the opportunity to experience the magic of the Winter Wonderland. Face painting, games, bouncy castles and trains, a magical sleigh ride and then, of course, a meeting with the man himself all combined to make it an unforgettable experience.


More U-19 Football Success

Last week the Under-19 soccer team played both their group games in the Metropolitan Schools League.

 On Wednesday the lads took on Marian College at home and knew a win would set them up to qualify from the group. With a weaker team due to the loss of a number of players on work experience, Collinstown started slowly and went 1-0 down to a strike from outside the box. On a day where Collinstown would miss a lot of chances Kian Delaney made no mistake when he broke clear soon after and slotted the ball past the keeper for his 1st goal of the afternoon to make it 1-1. Collinstown had much the better of it in the first half but the sides went in level at the break.
Collinstown took the lead early in the second half when a Brooklyn Ward cross looped over the keeper and went straight in to put our boys 2-1 up. Collinstown were now dominating the game and raced ahead to a 5-1 lead with 2 goals from Kian Delaney who bagged himself a hat-trick in the process and Joseph Maher with a lovely flick on from a corner.under 19 Football team
The drama didn’t end there however, after numerous chances to finish off Marian, the team from Ballsbridge managed to scramble home the ball when a shot was parried by stand-in keeper for the day Kevin Dunne to make it 5-2. Another 2 goals quickly followed, one the ref judged to be over the line even though goal line technology would have shown Kevin clearly keeping it from crossing. It was 5-4 and a nervy 5 minutes lay in store for Collinstown but they held on to set up a winner-takes-all game with Oatlands College on Friday.
This game was very different to the Marian game. Oatlands controlled the play and had the best chances but were frustrated on the day by Jamie Moss and particularly Samad Allison who was a rock at the back all day. But Collinstown’s clinical finishing on the day was the difference.
The lads were down 2-1 with 10 minutes to go when the ball broke to Jake Purcell who made no mistake and slotted it past the keeper to draw Collinstown level with his second goal of the game. Kian Delaney made it 3-2 soon after to put Collinstown ahead for the first time. It was a smash-and-grab certainly with Collinstown having 3 shots on target and scoring 3 goals.
U19 football manager Mr Lanigan was delighted to top the group with 2 wins from 2 and it means the lads will have a home Semi-Final against St. Michael’s College after Christmas.
Man of the Match v Marian: Kian Delaney (3 goals)
Man of the Match v Oatlands: Samad Allison