Career Guidance Update 28th May

Collinstown now has a dedicated Careers Portal site. The link can be found at the top of the Guidance page. Leaving Cert and Leaving Cert Applied students should add that page to their favourites and check it regularly.

There are also notices about Motor Apprenticeships, a Tips sheet with lots of reminders and information for LC students and details of a Maths exam for those interested in Engineering in Maynooth. Click here to see more details of all these.

If you have not filled in the Surveys, please do so. They can be found on the Careers Portal page or your Edmodo link. If you requested any further assistance please see the post of 26th May on the Guidance page.


Information about Calculated Grades

The Department of Education and Skills have produced two documents to help parents and students with the Calculated Grades procedure. Click on them to read them. Guide for Parents Guide for Students

Ms Duffy also wants to remind students:

The Department of Education and Skills has stated that ‘teachers are not to make contact with their students. No teacher can seek any further confirmation of the level from the student or their parent’. Therefore, your teachers cannot be in contact with you at this time.

The Department has also stated that ‘the earlier decision to cancel the oral component of the language examinations and the performing component of Music and to award full marks for these was based on the premise that the remaining components would proceed as normal. This premise no longer applies.’ Therefore, the Department is no longer awarding full marks for the orals or performing part of Music.


Urgent: Leaving Certificate and Leaving Certificate Applied students

All these sixth year students need to register online with the Department of Education and Skills Calculated Grade Student Portal.

Registration will take place from 10:00am on Tuesday 26th May to 10:00pm on Thursday 28th May.

All students must register using their exam number and part of their PPSN. They will be required to give a working email address and a mobile phone number. Click on this link to go direct to the online

Leaving Certificate students will also be asked to confirm their levels.

All details will be found in the Letter to Students and the Before you Start Guide. Click on them to read.

Please remind your fellow students to register on time. If you have any queries, please contact the Exam Secretary Mr Doolin at: